Leave a comment

The Black Belt Seminar, by Sensei Kevin

When Richard San asked me if I’d like to submit a write up of the recent Wisewarrior Black Belt Seminar, I have to admit, I thought it would be easy. I’m convinced that it still should be easy though that conviction is rapidly fading – hence this sentence of filler whilst I struggle to convey exactly what it was that happened on Saturday afternoon. The thing that is probably making this harder is the fact that I do not wish to give too much away.

Perhaps I should just be open and say that we spent the afternoon plugged into The Matrix using The Force? Or I could say that we took a meander through Particle Physics and Quantum Mechanics literally grasping the fabric of the universe. I could also say that we melted into a haziness of consciousness and moved like ripples on a pond. It’s more likely that you’d be more inclined to believe me if I said that we brought finesse and creativity to our ability to inflict pain upon any foolish enough to ‘have a go’. The interesting thing is that they’re all exactly what happened. Except for the last one.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m sure Richard San and Tim San could apply the seminar to a myriad of devious Kumite winning tricks, but that was far from the point.

The thing is, the more I re-read the passages above the more I’m convinced that I’ve let too much slip already, or have I? I think perhaps I should look at this in another way and I propose that we work through this together.

Ready?

Ok, here we go…

First, turn off your music or the television, look away from the screen and ignore any incoming tweets.

Next, pause. Relax.

Now move through your surroundings. There’s no rush, take you time.

Next, pause. Relax.

Now move your surroundings. There’s no rush, take your time.

3,2,1 and your back in the room! Sorry, I couldn’t resist. 🙂

Well there you have it. You’ve done it haven’t you? It was just as though you were there with the Black Belts and you now know exactly what I’ve been talking about. I’m sure you’ll also agree with me when I say that really we should cease with this secrecy and caginess and simply say that if you want to plug into The Matrix, use The Force, grip the fabric of the universe or push a ripple through space, keep working on that finesse and enjoy the creative ways of inflicting pain on any foolish enough to ‘have a go’. Once you’ve done that, tie your Black Belt around your waist and prepare to become one bad-ass Yoda/Neo-Samurai. Enjoy that feeling. It’ll be everything you expect; right up until you attend your first Black Belt Seminar and realise that it’s time to put that White Belt back on again.

Kevin San

Leave a comment