Leave a comment

Life After Blackbelt

Here is a thoughtful article submitted by one of our newest blackbelts; Ben San, about what Blackbelt now means to him.

‘Life After Blackbelt’ by Ben Sen:

Because I have reached the age of 25, and have now been a student of Aikido-Te for 1/5 of my life, I feel it’s now an approripate time for me to share with my fellow students what inspired me to start martial arts in the first place, and talk about what I consider to be the very beginning of my journey. (also Richard San asked!)

Cheltenham Wisewarrior, Ben San 3I had just completed a one year music course in Guildford, and decided to come back to my native Cheltenham. When I returned, I was thinking about either learning how to drive; something that would’ve been quite practical for me to do at that age, in order to meet ‘social expectations’. Or to begin taking lessons in martial arts; something that I had always been fascinated in at a younger age, but never had the confidence to actually pursue. While I’d imagine quite a few people would probably scorn at my decision, I can certainly say that I made the right one regardless!

As a teenager; the kind of image that I developed of what a blackbelt should be, was one that I always aspired to. I imagined a blackbelt as someone with an complete sense of confidence, self-security, the power of invincibility! (and most importantly; be followed by an endless supply of hot women!)

(Several years later…)

Well, In December 2012, I finally achieved my dream of actually attaining a black belt in Aikido Te. Although I am very proud of this achievement, actually holding a black belt in a martial art has made me become more aware that there is a sense of responsibility involved, and also – I am not
superhuman, at all!Cheltenham Wisewarrior

I can thankfully say that I am NOT invincible, and that there are still plenty of situations in my life that I am still trying to develop upon. (Women especially…!)
The biggest difference is that I am gradually becoming a bit more open in accepting many kinds of new challenges.
For example; all the lessons that I have had in the dojo or zen-room, since my blackbelt grading, have required me to push my abilities to the next level, by making me incorporate them to not just the dojo, but also into my personal life. While I still don’t fully understand all of their implications yet, or even have the ability to explain exactly what these are right now, I am able to sense a progression starting to take place.

wisewarrior, aikido, CheltenhamWhich leads me to ask this question for all of you…
Over the time that you’ve spent taking lessons, how have you found your own perceptions of what a martial artist represents changed for you, if at all?

I look forward to hearing your thoughts in the new ‘members area’ of the website or personally when next we train together.

See you in the dojo,

Sensei Ben 🙂wisewarriorbloglogo

Leave a comment